Nikki’s Story

Hi my name is Nikki.

I was asked by Louise if I would contribute to the blog and like Louise I also have Cerebral Palsy. It means I am in a wheelchair and have difficulty with mobility.

I’m sure like many of us, my disability has meant I have had to prove a lot of people wrong and I very often hear the word “can’t”. Well, who says I canโ€™t! When I was younger a doctor once said to my parents “just a little warning Nikki won’t have much of a life”. Well, 10 GCSEs, 3 Alevels and a degree later, I feel I’m doing just fine!
It was advised I was put into a special needs school, and I never really coped too well. My parents fought and fought to get me into a mainstream school and that’s where I stayed until moving onto university to study Media and Commiunication studies. Uni wasn’t much fun for me but that was no reflection on my disability it was just people being – people!

I’m not going to lie, I’m not always upbeat, I have days where I would wish it would all just go away! Sometimes I can’t stand the fact I’m so reliant on others but I try not to let it get to me, after all, there are people worse off, I’m sure ๐Ÿ™‚

Being in my chair hasn’t been without its comedic moments either; my Mom says I should write a book, I was once in my electric wheelchair shopping in M&S and I went down an aisle only to hear lots of laughing coming from behind me. I saw I had a trail of underwear dragging behind me – I guess you could say that day was a bit pants ๐Ÿ˜›

For me one of the best ways I find helps if I feel and bit down is music, it’s kinda become my escapism where I lose myself a while. Recently, one of the best experiences I had was at a Mcbusted concert. Usually I stay seated but the atmosphere was amazing and I wanted to dance so I noticed a bar in front of me so I got up and held tight and I didn’t care how stupid I might have looked I jumped around like everyone else. – I didn’t let my chair stop me from enjoying myself that night, I never have.

I hope I haven’t bored people to tears and this was somewhat enjoyable to read.

Nikki

Leave a Reply

